Rhubarb and Ginger jam

I’ve been frustrated by the lack of fruit in my garden this year; either the birds got it or the weather did.  However the rhubarb was growing well so I’ve made some rhubarb and ginger jam from ingredients at hand.

I checked my recipe books and also online (especially this lovely site) and it all said much the same sort of thing – equal parts of rhubarb and sugar, root ginger or crystallised or stem ginger or a mixture, and lemon to help with the pectin.  I had Jam Sugar in (added pectin) in readiness for a bountiful harvest, so I thought I might as well use that, along with lazy ginger that really needed using up (I rinsed it well first as it is preserved in wine vinegar but I reckoned that should be alright with rhubarb and lemon acid) and some lemon juice.

The jam jammed much quicker than strawberry seems to and tasting the residue seems to be extremely nice (and a nice lingering taste of ginger which will be warming in winter!).  And its a lovely colour.   1 kilo each of fruit and sugar made 3 standard jars and a small one.

So as I still have a jar of strawberry jam lurking at the back of the cupboard, along with two types of raspberry (Devon and my own) and some Seville marmalade from earlier in the year, I shouldn’t be short of sweetness this winter.

Leave a Reply

