Grannie’s Mince Pies

I panicked earlier this week as although I knew I had more than one copy of my Mum’s mince pie recipe handwritten in her recipe book, and I knew I had given one to my niece.  I couldn’t find my own copy!

Fortunately my niece is better organised than I am.  Here is the recipe for the most deliciousest mince pies you will ever eat.

Ingredients are:

10 oz flour, 1/2 plain and 1/2 self raising
6 oz butter
1 oz ground almonds
Zest of a lemon
3 oz caster sugar
1 egg yolk
3 tbsp milk

You will also need a jar of mincemeat, a little milk for sticking the pastry edges together and a little milk or egg white for brushing the tops.

Do you need me to tell you how to make the pastry?  Mix the ingredients above together (rub the butter into the flour, mix in the almonds, sugar and lemon, then stir in the egg yolk and add the milk so as to make a decent dough, not too sticky or too crumbly) and roll into a ball.  If possible, put in the fridge for half an hour to allow it to ‘ease’ then roll out on a floured surface.

Cut out circles with two adjacent sized rings, the larger for the bases and the smaller for the tops.  Put the bases into a greased tin, put a tsp of mincemeat in each.  Brush a little milk around the edges of the top circles and stick them, brushed side down, on the bottom halves, press the edges lightly together.  Brush the tops with milk or eggwhite, make a small hole in the top of each pie and pop in a medium hot oven – about 160C in a fan oven for about 15-20 minutes.  We’re guessing at the heat and length of time as it wasnt on the recipe paper.

It has been known for a little brandy or sherry to find its way into the mincemeat before adding it to the pastry bases 😉

2 thoughts on “Grannie’s Mince Pies

  1. These are delightful, but best kept in a tin for a day or two before eating – I prefer the pastry then as it’s a bit crumbly for my taste when fresh!

  2. Sounds delish. Of course, being a Yank I’ve never had mince pie.

Leave a Reply

