Wood burning stoves

We are halfway to installing the woodburning stoves in my living rooms so I can have the option of which side of the house to keep warm when I dont want the oil central heating on.  It may be a luxury to have both, but my aim was to reduce my fossil fuel consumption even more.  We have a lot of local wood I can glean as well as local wood suppliers.

I’m grateful to my friend Debs for sending me this poem on the best wood to burn.  It’s by Celia Congreve:

Beechwood fires are bright and clear
If the logs are kept a year,
Chestnut’s only good they say,
If for logs ’tis laid away.
Make a fire of Elder tree,
Death within your house will be;
But ash new or ash old,
Is fit for a queen with crown of gold

Birch and fir logs burn too fast
Blaze up bright and do not last.
It is by the Irish said
Hawthorn bakes the sweetest bread.
Elm wood burns like churchyard mould,
E’en the very flames are cold;
But ash green or ash brown
Is fit for a queen with golden crown

Poplar gives a bitter smoke,
Fills your eyes and makes you choke,
Apple wood will scent your room
Pear wood smells like flowers in bloom
Oaken logs, if dry and old
Keep away the winter’s cold
But ash wet or ash dry
A king shall warm his slippers by.

I hope that using my wood stoves will reduce by heating carbon footprint by about 20%.

2 thoughts on “Wood burning stoves

  1. My woodburning stoves are in! The work was started and then stopped for a bit because I needed a bit of work done on the damp proof course. But they have been in for a week now and I would have used them if only the weather hadnt turned warm… But it’s still only February and we’ll have cold weather again before spring is really here!

  2. Pingback: Trees to plant | Eppingstrider's Blog

Leave a Reply

