My wildflower patch

Although I’ve been having trouble with other parts of the garden this year, my ‘new’ wildflower patch has developed quite nicely.  I say ‘new’ since it’s been grass that got gradually taken over my ‘weeds’ or rather, native wildflowers, so having mentioned it to my neighbours in order to give them a chance to object, since we have open plan front gardens, I devoted the area to wildflowers, mowing a winding path through it and watching what came up.

I wasn’t surprised by the dandelions, cat’s ear, hedgerow cranesbill or daisies, since they had been growing sturdily for some time.   I was pleased by the range of grass types, and very pleased at their attraction for the azure and blue-tailed damselfies.  The ragwort I decided to leave once I’d seen a cinnabar moth, and sure enough, they are covered by black and yellow cinnabar caterpillars who live on them.

I’m now cutting the high level plants back and making hay from the cuttings (so not cutting ragwort or buttercup as they are poisonous – although I have read that buttercup dried in hay is no longer poisonous, but I’m not taking the risk).  I think it’s looking very nice, although I think some of my neighbours have reservations.

The big surprise was the appearance of a white campion, all on its own.  I hope it seeds well.  I know there are campions on the verges on the other side of the village, but mostly pink and red ones, so I’m pleased to see this white one here.

My species list 2012 (common UK names)

Flowers:
Common Mouse-ear White Campion Meadow Buttercup Shepherd’s Purse
Common Vetch Hairy Tare HopTrefoil Black Medick
White Clover Herb Robert Hedgerow Crane’s-bill Cut-leaved Crane’s-bill
St John’s Wort Short-fruited Willowherb Sweet Cicely Wild Carrot
Cleavers White Deadnettle Selfheal Mullein
Ribwort Greater Plantain Daisy Yarrow
Mugwort Ox-eye Daisy Ragwort Smooth Sow-thistle
Spear Thistle Cat’s Ear Dandelion Hawkweed
Nipplewort Groundsel
Grasses:
Cocksfoot Perennial Rye Timothy Common Bent
Yorkshire Fog Meadow Foxtail Fake Oat Rough-stalked Meadow-grass
Animals:
Dragons: Blue-tailed Damselfly Common Blue Damselfly
Butterflies: Holly Blue Meadow Brown Cinnabar Moth
Herps: Common Frog Common Toad
Leave a Reply

